Katie’s Hair Routine

8 May

Posted by: Katie

Big hair is my favorite. Actually, just having as much hair as possible. You know how Barbie’s hair is about twice as big as her body? That’s what I’ve always wanted. Unfortunately, while I was blessed with a lot of hair, it’s thin and so straight that it can look a little flat. It also takes a little while to grow and tends to stop at a certain point, so after trying several different products I’ve managed to grow my hair out a couple extra inches. Here are my keys to more growth and volume.

Mane ‘n Tail Shampoo & Conditioner

This is for real. My friend Katy started using it and swore that it helped her hair grow. Because she has such a flowing mane, I got some for myself. I went to Walgreens and found a giant bottle for about $6. Fantastic. Colby saw it and said, “Is this animal shampoo?” It does have animal AND human instructions on the bottle, and a big picture of a horse so I understood the confusion, but this was for me. I use this most of the time (about 4 times a week) and because it’s good to switch up products occasionally, I also use the following;

Biolage Hydrating Shampoo

I used to always get volumizing shampoos (for obvious reasons) but now I go for moisturizing shampoos. I found that I like treating my dry hair against breakage and then use volumizing styling products afterward. This shampoo is light enough that I don’t feel like my hair is weighed down when I use it, and it smells and feels great. I use this when I don’t use the Mane ‘n Tail, so about 3 times a week.

Biolage Conditioning Balm

I use the Biolage Conditioning Balm about once a week in place of my conditioner, after I have used the Biolage hydrating shampoo. You leave it in for about 5 minutes so wash your hair first, then shave your legs or wash your body, etc. then rinse out the conditioner. It is awesome and makes your hair feel like silk.

Kerastase Ciment Thermique 

After I have towel dried my hair I apply a quarter size of Ciment Thermique. Kerastase is not cheap but I think this product is liquid gold. It has definitely made an improvement on the strength and look of my hair. This is a thermo-protective reconstructive milk for weakened hair and protects hair from styling tools.

Kerastase Volumactive Mousse

I don’t use the Volumactive mousse every time but it is very helpful with achieving substantial volume. If I want a lot of volume without styling my hair then this product will do that just by working it in before I blow dry my hair. It is the best mousse I have ever used. This might sound weird but I think blonde hair can tend to look greasy with some products. I think mousse and gel are the trickiest products for a  blonde to use because they can leave too much residue. This product is not too sticky but gets the job done. If you style your hair after using this product you will get a good hold as well.

Farouk CHI Professional 1300-watt Low EMF Hair Dryer

I air dry my hair when possible, mostly on the weekends or when I wash my hair at night during the week. But when I don’t air dry, I blow dry with this baby. I have had mine for about 4-5 years. It dries my hair quickly and doesn’t get it all tangled. I dry my hair upside down (you probably already know this, but it adds volume) and use a paddle brush to control it.

Finally, it’s been important for me, because I color my hair, to find a salon that uses products that compliment my hair. I found that while Redken is a great product, my hair just doesn’t respond as well and feels dry when I use those products and colors. So that is up to everyone’s own hair and is something you need to try out through trial and error.

My hair wizard is Nicole at Swank Salon.  If you’re looking for an amazing stylist in downtown Phoenix that, not only does your hair crazy good but will also make you laugh the whole time, look no further. Call 602-265-3068 for an appointment.

It’s a Swank -y little salon

Related: Liz’s Everyday Hair Routine

One Response to “Katie’s Hair Routine”

  1. Molly Fuzat Tue, May 8, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    You know I LOVE YOUR HAIR!!!! XO

Leave a Reply

