Tinted Lip Balms

10 Apr

Posted by: Liz

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been a chapstick/lip balm girl.  My lips are naturally a darker pink so I never really noticed or cared about adding more color, I’ve only been concerned that they stay hydrated and soft.  However, I had my makeup professionally done for my wedding and at my trial the makeup artist asked what lipcolor I typically use.  I responded with “ummm, chapstick?” and she just about had a heart attack.  After seeing how complete my makeup looked with a little lipcolor, I became more and more interested in trying different products and colors.

I’ve always thought lipstick was too dry and tasted bad, and lip gloss is too gooey and sticky.  Recently, though, I’ve tried giving lipstick another chance as well as trying a variety of lip stains and long-lasting lipcolors, and while I’m not opposed to any of them, I still can’t stand that my lips aren’t constantly coated in the waxy, hydrated goodness I’m used to.  I’ve been doing some research and have found that a lot of different beauty companies are coming out with tinted lip balms!  How perfect, I get my chapstick texture while adding a bit of color.  I’ve purchased a few to see how they look so I wanted to share my favorites under $10:

Revlon – $7.49

Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter (in Pink Parfait)

L’Oreal Paris – $7.99

L'Oreal Colour Riche Lip Balm (in Caring Coral)

NYX – $3.79

NYX Color Lip Balm (in Merci)

Burt’s Bees – $6.99

Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm (in Hibiscus)

Ulta – $6.00

Ulta Tinted Lip Balm (in Sweet)

And just in case you’re wondering, these are my favorite lip sticks, lip stains, and long lasting lipcolors:

NYX – $3.99

NYX Round Case Lipstick (in Paris)

Revlon – $10.99

Revlon Colorstay Ultimate Liquid Lipcolor (in Prized Peach)

Cover Girl – $8.99

Cover Girl Outlast All Day Lipcolor (in Nude)

Cover Girl – $8.99

Cover Girl Outlast Lipstain (in Flirty Nude)

Stila – $24.00

Stila Lip & Cheek Stain (in Raspberry Crush)

*click on each photo to link to source

Leave a Reply

