DIY Oxford Pumps

27 Mar

Posted by: Katie

I used to have the cutest pair of oxford shoes growing up that I wore all the time. Since then I haven’t owned a pair of oxfords but when I saw the J Crew Mona oxford pumps (on sale right now) I loved them, but thought I could recreate them at a much cheaper price.

The inspiration:

Oh yeah, that is glitter on those toes

I found these Joan And David black pumps on sale and they were perfect because they already had the oxford detail stitching on the toe and heel.

Before:

Joan And David Milestone pumps

I used painter tape to tape off the toe and heel and used white nail polish to paint two coats of white.

Two coats of white nail polish

Then I taped plastic saran wrap on the black parts and covered the insides of the shoe so I could spray a clear gloss on top of the white. Immediately after I sprayed the gloss I sprinkled white glitter on top. I let that sit for a little bit and removed the tape.

After:

ooh la la

Sparkly little toes

I love the way they turned out. The glitter is subtle enough that I think they still look professional and it also covered any painting flaws. If they rub off at all I can easily add more nail polish and glitter.

Leave a Reply

