Pretty Pot

11 Jan

Posted by: Katie

I love having plants in my house but I don’t exactly have a green thumb so I normally only display the flowers I get from my sweet boyfriend or, like last month, the poinsettia I got to take home from my office. After the poinsettia bit the dust I decided to replace it with a pretty plant that I can hopefully keep around for a little while. I found a medium-sized Jade plant at A.J.’s that was already in a little clay pot with a dish. Clay doesn’t match my decor so I painted it when I got home. I just used acrylic paints in white, black and black sparkles.

Full disclosure: I originally thought I was going to do two black stripes on the pot, so I put two lines of tape around the middle and painted in between. When I pulled the tape off it looked like a jagged mess so I smooshed it. I think that’s the technical term.

Before:

After:

I think that this will also encourage me to take better care of the plant.

One Response to “Pretty Pot”

  1. alou2 Tue, January 17, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Love the plant and the beautifully decorated pot! Jade Plants are hardy….

Leave a Reply

