Spaghetti Squash

28 Sep

I don’t normally prefer squash so it took a little while after I heard about this surprising little vegetable to actually try it. I thought it would be kinda like that time I tried tofu noodles. Gross. This is not gross, this is delicious! A little spaghetti squash makes a lot so since I was cooking for two people tonight I got a little guy.

Spaghetti Squash

I split it right down the middle and scooped out all of the seeds and strings.

Scooping

Once the two halves guts are out, you have two options. Most recipes suggest you put the squash in the oven, and I will try it that way, but I actually cooked mine in the microwave. The oven way normally takes about an hour and since I had less time I opted for the microwave route. I put a half cup of water in the bottom half and put the other half on top and microwaved for 11 minutes. When it is ready you will be able to squeeze the top (with an oven mitt, it will be kind of super hot) with little resistance. Take a spoon to the inside of the squash and noodles will emerge. Like magic!

The "noodles"

I also could have made my own sauce, but I chose the Newman’s Own fire roasted tomato and garlic pasta sauce.

I cooked about a pound of ground turkey and added the sauce. Put some shredded parmesan cheese on top and make some garlic bread, if you weren’t making spaghetti squash to avoid the carbs, and wa-LA. Dinner time!

Feast!

*K*

3 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash”

  1. alou2 Sat, November 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Yummy! Great recipe!

  2. Living | Life | Lovely Thu, September 29, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Hi Judy! Spaghetti squash is also great as a side dish, like in the place of mashed potatos! You could try sauteing garlic and a little bit of olive oil and putting it on top of the cooked squash! Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Judy Escano Thu, September 29, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Hi K, I used to fix this all the time, then I couldn’t have tomato sauce anymore so I kind of forgot about it. Got any ideas about a non-tomato topping that might be good with it.
    xx Judy

Leave a Reply

